Professor Gominda Ponnamperuma
MBBS, Dip. Psychology, MMEd, PhD

Professor Gominda Ponnamperuma currently works as a Professor in Medical Education, Faculty of Medicine. He has been an active contributor to quality assurance activities at faculty, university, national and international levels. He was the first Coordinator of the Internal Quality Assurance Cell of the Faculty of Medicine and has conducted workshops and invited talks on quality assurance-related topics in almost all faculties, institutes, and the campus of the University of Colombo.
At a national level, he has served as an editorial panel member of the current version of Sri Lanka Qualifications Framework (SLQF), a co-author of ‘Frequently Asked Questions on SLQF’ of the Quality Assurance Council website, a member of Standing Committee on Accreditation and Quality Assurance (SCAQA) of Ministry of Education both in 2017 and in 2020-2021, a member of the Advisory Committee on Online Assessment for Non-State Higher Education Institutes of Ministry of Education, a co-editor of Quality Assurance Manual for Review of Undergraduate Study Programmes of Sri Lankan Distance Higher Education Institutions, an invited resource person for quality assurance related workshops in all State and many non-State universities of the country, a committee member and a consultant appointed by the National Education Commission of Sri Lanka on a variety of topics related to quality assurance from 2020 onwards, a sitting member of the Accreditation Unit of the Sri Lanka Medical Council (SLMC), and the Convenor of the Committee for the revision of Medicine Subject Benchmark Statement of the UGC in 2021. Internationally, he had been an invited speaker and/or a workshop resource person on topics related to quality assurance in several countries, including India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Oman, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, and the UK.


Dr Narmada Fernando
Deputy Director – CQA


Mr SM Shifar
Assistant Registrar – CQA


Ms Sakunika Sewwandi
Coordinator – CQA

Past Directors


2019 – 2022
Professor Nirmalie Pallewatta


2015 – 2019
Professor Wipula B Yapa


2010 – 2015
Professor Manouri Senanayake