Hostel Facilities of the University of Colombo

Presently, the University has seven permanent hostels, six temporary private houses and the number of students, who were provided with accommodation by the University during the year, are given in tables III-03 and III-04. Six private houses at Ananda Cumaraswamy Mawatha. Colombo 07; Danister De Silva Mawatha, Colombo 09; Ambillawatta Road, Boralesgamuwa; Temple Road, Rattanapitiya; Sujatha Avenue, Kalubowila and Nawinna were taken on lease during this year.

During the year 2007, 2550 undergraduate were provided accommodation in the University Hostels and 423 students were accommodated in the leased-out houses. Accordingly, the University had provided hostel accommodation for 2973 undergraduates which is nearly 35 % out of 8,506, the total student community.

Application for the Hostel Facilities.

Download Sinhala English

Note : Your are requested to submit the duly filled application on your Registration Day.

University of Colombo owned Hostels

Hostel Name




Sub Warden

Kithyakara Men’s Hostel 87, Anandarajakaruna Mawatha, Colombo 10


Dr. Sandagomi Coparahewa, Dept. Of Sinhala Mr. W.W.G. Jayantha
Havelock Women’s Hostel 90, Sri Sambuddhathwa Jayanthi Mawatha, Colombo 05


Dr.(Ms) C.D.Wijerathna, Dept. Of Chemistry Mrs. K. M. Jayasinghe
Bullers Women’s Hostel 37/15, Bullers Lane, Colombo 07


Dr.(Ms.) M.R. Wijesinghe, Dept. Of Zoology Mrs. D. S. De Silva
Muttiah Women’s Hostel 48, Muttiah Road, Colombo 02


Mrs. Jeeva Niriella, Fac. Of Law Mrs. W. M. S. Weerasekara
De Saram Women’s Hostel 215, De Saram Place, Colombo 10


Dr. S. Sri Ranganathan, Dept. Of Pharmacology Mrs. M. N. P. Perera
Blomfontein Men’s Hostel 176, Norris Canal Road, Colombo 8


Dr. Malik Samarasinghe, Dept. Of Surgery Mr. P. K. Ekanayake
De Saram (New) Women’s Hostel 220, De Seram Place, Colombo 10


Dr. P.S. Saputhanthri, Dept. Of Plant Science Mrs. S. Kumarihamy
University of Colombo rednted out Hostels

Hostel Name




Sub Warden

Green Path Bhikku House 71/3 & 71/4, Green Path, Anandacumaraswamy Mw, Colombo 07


Rev. Dr. M. Dhammajothi, Dept. Of Sinhala Mr. P. K. Ekanayake (Acting)
Nawinna Women’s House 445/1, Colombo Road, Nawinna, Maharagama


Ms. G.D.C. Mangalika
Kirulapone Student House 47, Mahinda Place, Off High Level Road, Kirulapone


Mr. M.D. Jothipala
Rajagiriya Men’s House 107/12, Rajagiriya Road, Rajagiriya


Mr. M.D. Jothipala (Acting)
Boralesgamuwa Student House 290/2, Maharagama Road, Boralesgamuwa


Ms. G.D.C. Mangalika (Acting)