

FACULTY OF SCIENCE - PRIZES AND MEDALS LIST - 2020

Subject to Senate recommendation to the Council

Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Science in Honours Degree Programmes in Science – 2020.

- Professor B.L.T. de Silva Memorial Prize in Plant Sciences S 13249 Ms JMV Lakshika
- Dr. Swarna Senathirajah Memorial Prize for Genetics & Plant Breeding
 S 13238 Ms WMDA Heshani
- Sir Nigel Ball Award for Plant Sciences
 S 13249 Ms JMV Lakshika
- Professor B.A. Abeywickrema Award for Plant Sciences
 S 13297 Ms PRGKT Rankoth
- Gulamhusein A.J. Noorbhai Gold Medal for Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

S 13313 Ms AKN Warnakulasuriya

6. Professor Stanley Wijesundera Memorial Gold Medal for Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

S 13313 Ms AKN Warnakulasuriya

- Gulamhusein A.J. Noorbhai Gold Medal for Pharmacy
 S 13619 HWWMKR Hulugalla
- Senaka Bibile Medal in Pharmacology
 S 13619 HWWMKR Hulugalla

9.	Bhikaji Framji Khan Gold Medal for Chemistry
	S 13331 Ms MVIT Mawela

- Professor Pearlyn Pereira Memorial Gold Medal for Physical Chemistry
 S 13269 AHJ Sampath
- 11. Gold Medal in Organic Chemistry
 S 13331 Ms MVJT Mawela
- 12. Professor R.S. Ramakrishna Gold Medal for Inorganic Chemistry

S 13269 AHJ Sampath
S 13331 Ms MVJT Mawela Jointly awarded

13. Dharmachandra and Tamarasa Gunawardhana Memorial Gold Medal for Analytical Chemistry

> S 13233 Ms MDCI Goonetilleke S 13331 Ms MVJT Mawela Jointly awarded

- Professor Mailvaganam Mahendran Gold Medal for Organic Chemistry
 S 13331 Ms MVJT Mawela
- 15. CUFSAA Gold Medal for Computational Chemistry
 S 13466 JGK Thisara
- 16. Gulamhusein A.J. Noorbhai Gold Medal for the Best Student in Zoology

S 13215 Ms HASS Alwis

- 17. Gulamhusein A.J. Noorbhai Gold Medal for the Best Zoology Research Project
 S 13215 Ms HASS Alwis
- 18. The P.B. Karunaratne Memorial Gold Medal for Ornithology S 13215 Ms HASS Alwis
- The Field Ornithology Group Gold Medal for Business and Environment None qualify
- 20. Professor S. W. Kotagama Gold Medal for Environment Science S 13262 Ms ULNS Perera

9

21. Professor P.C.B. and Clauda Fernando Award for the Best Undergraduate Research
Project in the Immunology & Integrative Molecular Biology Programme

\$ 13222 AADD Chathuranga

22. The Field Ornithology Group Gold Medal for Conservation Biology

S 13215 Ms HASS Alwis S 13262 Ms ULNS Perera Jointly awarded

23. Gold Medal for the Best Final Year Research Project in Environment Science

S 13262 Ms ULNS Perera S 13295 Ms WPTA Perera Jointly awarded

- 24. Dr. C.A. Hewavitharana Memorial Prize for Physics
 S 13366 BP Akalanka
- 25. Gulamhusein A.J. Noorbhai Gold Medal for the Best Physics Research Project S 13366 BP Akalanka
- 26. Mailvaganam Memorial Award for Physics S 13366 BP Akalanka
- 27. Mr. A.G.W. Perera Memorial Gold Medal for Engineering Physics S 13353 Ms HGK Abeywickrama
- 28. Dr. Sarath Gunapala Gold Medal for Computational Physics
 None qualify
- 29. Dharmadasa Punchihewa Memorial Prize for Mathematics
 S 13484 OA Illeperuma
- 30. Gulamhusein A.J. Noorbhai Gold Medal for the Best Student in Mathematics

S 13484 OA Illeperuma

- 31. Douglas Amarasekera Prize for the Best Student in Mathematics
 S 13484 OA Illeperuma
- 32. Mr. & Mrs. D.P. Epasinghe Memorial Gold Medal for Mathematics
 S 13484 OA Illeperuma

0/

33.	Professor Valentine Joseph Memorial Gold Medal for the Best Student in Mathemati	tics
	S 13484 OA Illeperuma	

- 34. Mr. & Mrs. V.W. Samaranayake Memorial Gold Medal for Statistics
 13367 AAKT Amarasinghe
- 35. CR and Bhargavi Rao Gold Medal for Statistics S 13575 Ms LW Rathuwadu
- 36. Gold Medal for the Best Final Year Project in Statistics
 S 13488 Ms SD Daluwatumulle
- 37. Prof. V.K. Samaranayake Memorial Gold Medal for the Best Student of the Statistics with Computer Science

 S 13496 Ms SNK Rajakaruna
- Best Final Year Project of the Statistics with Computer Science
 S 13498 Ms LDPS Senaratne
- Gold Medal for Industrial Statistics
 S 13575 Ms LW Rathuwadu
- 40. Gold Medal for the Best Final Year Project in Industrial Statistics
 S 13575 Ms LW Rathuwadu
- 41. Gold Medal for the Best Student of the Applied Statistics
 S 13581 DRS Kalubowila
- **42.** Coomaraswamy Prize
 S 14078 Ms. WGS Lakmini
- 43. Professor P.C. Sarbadhikari Award for Plant Sciences
 None qualify
- 44. The Award for the Best Student in the BSc Degree Programme in Biological Sciences

 None Qualify
- 45. The Award for the Best Student in the BSc Degree Programme in Physical Sciences

None Qualify

9/

- 46. Joseph Nalliah Arumugam Memorial Award S 13331 Ms MVJT Mawela
- 47. Justin Samarasekera Award for the Most Outstanding Science Student of the Year

S 13222 AADD Chathuranga

Vajira Hapuhinna Jayaratne
Deputy Registrar/Examinations

/Registrar