Past Vice-Chancellors

Professor Chandrika N Wijeyaratne

Vice-Chancellor (2019 - 2022)

Professor Lakshman Dissanayake

Vice-Chancellor (2015 - 2019)

Dr. Kumara Hirimburegama

Vice-Chancellor (2013 - 2015)

Dr. Kumara Hirimburegama, the first Director who re-established the Institute of Human Resource Advancement of the University of Colombo, and the first Dean of the Faculty of Management, Social Sciences & Humanities of the Sir John Kotelawala Defense University of the Ministry of Defense, was appointed with immediate effect by His Excellency President of Sri […]

Professor Kshanika Hirimburegama


Professor Tilak Hettiarachchy

Vice-Chancellor (2002 - 2007)

Professor Tilak Hettiarachchy who showed diverse facets of talent in the field of Arts and Linguistics is a wonderful product of that genre, as he had risen up to the highest possible point in that path, starting from the post of Assistant Lecturer right up to the highest administrative post in the University. Born in […]

Emeritus Professor S W E Goonesekere

Vice-Chancellor (1999 - 2002)

Emeritus Professor of Law Savitri W E Goonesekere has been described as a ‘legal luminary’, ‘woman pioneer’ and a ‘legend in the legal and academic fields of Sri Lanka.’ The University of Colombo has had the rare distinction of having had Prof. Goonesekere as its first female Vice Chancellor and its first woman Professor of […]

Deshamanya Emeritus Professor WD Lakshman

Vice-Chancellor (1994 - 1999)

W. D. Lakshman received his post primary and secondary education at VidyalokaVidyalaya(now Vidyaloka College) in Galle and entered the University of Ceylon at Peradeniya in 1960. He was awarded the University of Ceylon scholarship based on his performance at the University Preliminary Examination. He obtained the degree of Bachelor of Arts in Economics specializing in […]

Deshamanya Emeritus Professor Nandadasa Kodagoda

Vice-Chancellor (1994)

The Late Professor Nandadasa Kodagoda was born on 31st October 1929 in Hikkaduwa and grew up in the village of Ahangama in the Southern Province of Sri Lanka. He received his early education at the Ahangama Temple School. After the first two years of education, he was admitted to Nalanda Vidyalaya, Colombo. Nandadasa’s parents took […]

Professor Gamini Lakshman Peiris

Vice-Chancellor (1988 - 1994)

Professor Gamini Lakshman Peiris assumed duties as the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Colombo during a turbulent period in Sri Lanka’s history when peace and tranquility in the country was affected and it was in turmoil. Within a short period of his assuming the Vice Chancellorship in 1988, the out-going Vice-Chancellor was murdered in the […]

Professor Stanley wijesundara

Vice-Chancellor (1979 - 1988)

Professor Bartholomeauz Aristides Abeywickrama

Vice-Chancellor (1969 - 1974)

Vice- Chancellor, University of Colombo, Ceylon, 1969-1972 Vice- Chancellor, University of Sri Lanka, 1972-1974 Born on 11th March 1920, Prof. Bartholomeauz Aristides Abeywickrama had a brilliant school career firstly at St. Aloysius College, Galle and later at Royal College, Colombo, where he won many academic honours. Thereafter, he showed exceptional merit at the Ceylon University […]

Walwin Arnold De Silva

Vice-Chancellor (1968 - 1969)

Sir Nicholas Attygalle

Vice-Chancellor (1955 - 1966)

Sir Ivor Jennings

The first Vice-Chancellor, University of Ceylon