The OWSD – Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early-Career Women Scientists in the Developing World

The OWSD – Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early-Career Women Scientists in the Developing World

The Call for Applications for the 2020 OWSD-Elsevier Foundation Awards has been extended until 5 September 2019. Early career scientists and/or engineers from the developing world who are working in the fields of engineering and technology are strongly encouraged to apply. These awards reward and encourage women working and living in eligible developing countries who are in the early stages of their scientific careers, having often overcome great challenges to achieve research excellence.

Recipients receive a cash prize of USD 5,000 and an all-expenses-paid trip to attend the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) annual meeting, held every year in the USA during February.  Previous winners say the awards have had a powerful effect, enhancing the visibility of their past work and creating new opportunities for the future.


Awardees must have lived and worked in one of the eligible developing countries (see also list below) for at least 5 of the last 15 years and must be within ten years of receiving their PhD.

Eligible fields

The 2020 Awards are in the fields of engineering and technology. Evidence of innovation will be considered favorably. Specific eligible fields include:

  • Civil engineering
  • Electrical engineering, electronic engineering
  • Telecommunications/information engineering / Software engineering
  • Computer science
  • Mechanical engineering
  • Chemical engineering
  • Materials engineering
  • Medical engineering
  • Environmental engineering
  • Environmental biotechnology
  • Industrial biotechnology
  • Nanotechnology

Eligible countries

Africa: Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Dem. Rep. Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Arab Region: Djibouti, Palestine (West Bank & Gaza Strip), Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Yemen.

Asia and the Pacific: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Kiribati, Lao People’s Dem. Rep., Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Timor-Leste, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.

Latin America and the Caribbean: Bolivia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Nicaragua, Paraguay.

How to apply

For full information on selection criteria and to apply, see the attached Call for Applications or the OWSD website:

The Call for Applications is also attached in Spanish. For information in Spanish on the website, see:

For questions, please contact the OWSD Secretariat at